Table of Contents

10 sections 13 min read

This page contains Amazon affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.

Energy monitors show how much electricity your home uses, and some also show what your solar panels send back to the grid. Most of the models here clamp onto a circuit panel rather than plugging into one outlet, so they can read the whole house or selected circuits.

Before you pick one, check how many circuits it reads, whether it measures solar export or net metering, and whether it relies on Wi-Fi, Ethernet or a cloud account. For the units and terms used in these listings, see solar terms explained.

Every specification on this page comes from each product’s Amazon listing, checked on 7 November 2026. We have not used these products ourselves, so the picks are based on published specifications only.

For the units behind the readings, see watts, watt-hours and volts explained and how to find out how much energy your devices use.

Quick picks

How we chose these

  • Solar and export readings Look for bi-directional or net metering support if you have panels or a battery.
  • Circuit count and clamp size The number of sensors sets how much of the panel you can see, and clamp rating shows the largest load each one reads.
  • Connection and data access Wi-Fi, Ethernet, Z-Wave, cloud storage and local access all change how you view and keep your data.
  • Install and safety notes Panel type, phase support and any electrician advice matter more than app features.

Each product description below uses the maker’s own listing text, so the claims are the makers’ claims. Where a listing does not give a value, the table says Not stated.

Comparison table

Product Channels or sensors Solar or net metering Connection Best for
1. Emporia Vue 3 Not stated Listed in title Not stated Clamp-on panel installs
2. Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8 2 x 200A clamp sensors Measures surplus solar power Z-Wave gateway Z-Wave and SmartThings homes
3. LyteSolar 2 x 120A Two channels Bi-directional solar tracking Wi-Fi, Tuya or Smart Life app Solar homes with two channels
4. Blindsmart 2 x 120A 2 split-core CTs Bi-directional for solar and battery Smart Life app Solar with battery storage
5. Eyedro 200A 2 x 200A sensors Solar, grid and net metering Wi-Fi or Ethernet Wired or wireless setups
6. Fusion Energy 16 x 50A 16 circuit sensors Solar and net metering monitoring Not stated Many-circuit tracking
7. Refoss EM16P Not stated Surplus solar routing (maker) Local web UI, Open API, MQTT Home Assistant users
8. Refoss 16 x 60A 16 circuit sensors per title Solar and net metering Local web UI, Open API, MQTT, WebSocket Local control
9. SIEMENS Inhab Up to 16 branch circuits and 2 main sensors Excess solar and net metering functions Mobile app (USA and Canada) Load management
10. Meross 18-circuit 2 main (200A) and 16 branch (60A) Solar surplus detection Not stated Many circuits and alerts
11. Sungrass Lite Not stated Not stated App and MQTT API, cloud storage Cloud history and export
12. Nestool 3 x 80A 3 CT clamps Solar-related circuits listed 2.4GHz Wi-Fi Selected high-load circuits
13. EdgeAnt 3 x 120A 3 x 120A CT clamps Solar and net metering (title) 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi Bidirectional readings
14. EdgeAnt 3 x 200A 3 x 200A clamps Solar net metering (title) 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, SmartLife app Main-panel readings
15. Leviton LWHEM-2R One pair of CTs Shows which power sources run the home Wi-Fi, My Leviton app Leviton breaker owners
16. efergy Elite-Max Not stated Not stated No Wi-Fi, radio frequency Simple in-home display

Not stated means the maker’s listing does not give that value. Solar and sensor details come from each maker’s own listing text.

Solar and net metering focus

These listings put solar export, net metering or surplus solar at the center of the feature set.

1. Emporia Vue 3 Home Energy Monitor: for whole-home tracking with solar metering

1
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • UL Listed per the maker
  • Clamp-on panel install
  • Solar and net metering listed in title

Cons

  • Three-phase Wye systems need a separate sensor
  • Channel count and connection not stated

Emporia states the Vue 3 carries UL Listing, a designation it ties to meeting electrical safety rules in the US and Canada. Clamp-on sensors fit the circuit panel, and the maker names single-phase, split-phase and 2-wire setups as supported layouts.

  • Emporia says three-phase 4-wire Wye layouts require a second 200A clamp, purchased separately (Emporia)

2. Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8: for Z-Wave smart home setups with solar

2
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Measures solar surplus
  • Works with SmartThings and Home Assistant
  • Z-Wave Long Range

Cons

  • Needs a Z-Wave gateway to share data
  • The 99% accuracy figure is the maker's claim

According to Aeotec, the Home Energy Meter 8 can read surplus output from rooftop panels and links to as many as two phases of household supply. Data goes through a Z-Wave gateway on the Long Range version of the protocol.

  • Uses 2x200A clamp-on sensors (Aeotec)
  • Aeotec says it works with SmartThings and Home Assistant (Aeotec)

3. LyteSolar Smart Home Energy Monitor 2x120A: for solar homes that need two monitored channels

LyteSolar describes two separate channels and two-way tracking suited to solar or battery backup homes. Setup runs through the Tuya or Smart Life app, and history is kept hourly, daily, monthly and yearly.

  • Two independent 120A sensing channels (LyteSolar)

4. Blindsmart WiFi Home Energy Monitor with 2 x 120A CTs: for solar and battery systems that need export readings

Blindsmart says the unit tracks home use and grid export for solar and battery systems, citing Class 1 accuracy. Split-core current transformers and removable terminals are listed, and the Smart Life app is supported.

  • Lists configurable reporting intervals (Blindsmart)
  • Lists support for home energy management systems (Blindsmart)

5. Eyedro Smart Home Energy Monitor 200A: for wired or Wi-Fi setups with solar and net metering

Eyedro describes the unit as a whole-house meter or a solar meter, with solar, grid and net metering support. The package holds two 200A clamps, a wired network cable and a power adapter, and it connects by WiFi or Ethernet.

  • Eyedro says data is viewed through the MyEyedro cloud with no subscription (Eyedro)
  • Eyedro says the unit is designed around North American safety rules (Eyedro)

Circuit-level panel monitors

These monitors clamp onto a panel and track many circuits or selected high-load circuits.

6. Fusion Energy Smart Home Energy Monitor with 16 50A Circuit Level Sensors: for tracking many circuits in one home

Fusion Energy says the kit includes 16 50A sensors meant for major appliances such as an AC unit, furnace and water heater. Clamp-on sensors go into the panel, and the listing names solar and net metering monitoring.

  • Protected by a 1-year warranty (Fusion Energy)
  • Fusion Energy says panels with only busbar access need flexible sensors available from SEM-Meter (Fusion Energy)

7. Refoss EM16P Smart Home Energy Monitor: for Home Assistant users who want local data

Refoss says the EM16P keeps data on the home network, reachable through a built-in web page, Open API and MQTT, with no dependence on cloud servers. The maker also says it integrates with Home Assistant at setup and can route extra solar power to appliances such as EV chargers.

  • Refoss says the Home Assistant link needs no firmware flashing (Refoss)

8. Refoss Smart Home Energy Monitor with 16 60A Circuit Sensor: for local control with a wider circuit view

Refoss says the monitor reads 18 separate circuits to within ±1% and offers a built-in web page, Open API, MQTT and WebSocket for local control. The maker adds that extra solar and net-metered energy can go to mid-power loads such as heat pumps and dishwashers.

  • The title lists 16 60A circuit sensors, while the listing text mentions 18 circuits (Refoss)

9. SIEMENS Inhab Smart Home Energy Monitor: for whole-home tracking with load management

Siemens says the Inhab records usage at the panel’s main feed and at up to 16 branch circuits, and it also manages time-of-use pricing, peak demand, surplus solar and net metering. The listing says it carries CE marking and UL Listing.

  • Includes 2 main 200A sensors and 16 circuit sensors of 50A capacity (Siemens)
  • The mobile app is listed for use in the USA and Canada only (Siemens)

10. Meross Smart Home Energy Monitor with 18 Circuit Monitoring: for many circuits and solar surplus alerts

Meross says the monitor is ETL-certified and meets the UL 61010 standard. The maker lists support for common US service types, including 3-phase Wye layouts with earthed neutral, and describes usage limits, spike alerts and solar surplus detection.

  • Covers 2 main circuits at 200A and 16 branch circuits at 60A (Meross)
  • Protected by a 2-year warranty (Meross)

11. Sungrass Home Energy Monitor Lite: for cloud-based data history and analysis

Sungrass says the monitor streams 1-second power readings to its app or an MQTT API and stores minute and hour records in the cloud. The maker adds that those records can be downloaded as a spreadsheet or JSON file for analysis.

  • Minute data kept 45 days; monthly and yearly summaries kept 36 months (Sungrass)

12. Nestool WiFi Home Energy Monitor with 3 80A CT Clamps: for a few high-load circuits

Nestool says the hardwired monitor is intended for chosen circuits in a panel, such as HVAC, a water heater or solar-related circuits. It lists three CT clamps and notes that wiring is involved, with an electrician suggested for anyone who is new to panel work.

  • Input range is AC 100-240V (Nestool)
  • Channels A, B and C can be cycled in the Smart Life or Tuya app (Nestool)

Clamp and display options

These picks differ mainly in clamp size, connection method or display style.

13. Energy Monitor with 3 * 120A Clamp: for bidirectional readings in single or split-phase homes

EdgeAnt describes three 120A CT clamps with ±2% accuracy and two-way flow reporting. A clamp mounted against the current direction shows a negative value.

  • EdgeAnt says phone app monitoring depends on a 2.4 GHz link with online access (EdgeAnt)
  • Works with Tuya devices (EdgeAnt)

14. Smart Home Energy Monitor with 3 200A Clamps EdgeAnt: for main-panel readings with solar net metering

EdgeAnt says the monitor pairs with the SmartLife app to chart energy trends over time as part of the Tuya ecosystem. The title lists three 200A clamps and solar net metering over 2.4 GHz WiFi.

  • Uses three 200A clamps (EdgeAnt)
  • Connects through 2.4 GHz WiFi (EdgeAnt)

15. Leviton LWHEM-2R Whole Home Energy Monitor: for homes with Leviton smart breakers

Leviton says the LWHEM-2R links to a load center over Wi-Fi and reports whole-home use and generation live, including which supply is running the house. Its control and load-shedding features are tied to Leviton 2nd Gen Smart Circuit Breakers.

  • Includes one pair of CTs (Leviton)
  • Leviton says the monitor can shed nonessential breakers during backup operation when wired to a transfer switch and backup gear (Leviton)

16. efergy Elite-Max Display Kit: for an in-home display without Wi-Fi

Efergy says the Elite-Max kit does not need Wi-Fi and lets you download data directly from the monitor. The 7.9-inch color display shows readings and can send peak-rate and high-use alerts.

  • Screen is 7.9 inches with a 640 x 480 maximum resolution (Efergy)
  • Wall mount, weight 0.88 kg (Efergy)

Which one fits you

Your situation Look at Why
You have solar panels and a battery Blindsmart 2 x 120A or LyteSolar 2 x 120A Both list bi-directional readings for solar and battery setups
You want many circuits in one panel Meross 18-circuit or SIEMENS Inhab Both list 16 or more branch circuits with panel mains readings
You run Home Assistant and want local data Refoss EM16P The listing says data stays on your network through local access
You want a display with no Wi-Fi efergy Elite-Max Display Kit The listing says Wi-Fi is not required and data can be downloaded

Practical tips

  • Check how many circuits the listing covers, since the number of sensors sets how much of the panel you can see.
  • Confirm your panel setup. Some listings need extra sensors for three-phase or busbar-only panels.
  • Note the connection type and app region before buying, since some listings require 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi or limit the app to certain countries.

FAQ

Do these monitors work with solar panels?

Several listings say they measure solar output, net metering or bi-directional power flow. Check that the model you pick names the function you need.

Do I need an electrician to install one?

Nestool recommends a qualified electrician for panel wiring if you are not familiar with it. Review the installation notes in the listing before you start.

Is a plug-in watt meter the same as a home energy monitor?

No. This list covers panel-based and circuit-level monitors, while plug-in meters read one appliance at a time.

Sources

Specifications from each product’s Amazon listing, checked 7 November 2026: Emporia Vue 3 Home Energy Monitor, Aeotec Home Energy Meter 8, LyteSolar Smart Home Energy Monitor 2x120A, Blindsmart WiFi Home Energy Monitor with 2 x 120A CTs, Eyedro Smart Home Energy Monitor 200A, Fusion Energy Smart Home Energy Monitor with 16 50A Circuit Level Sensors, Refoss EM16P Smart Home Energy Monitor, Refoss Smart Home Energy Monitor with 16 60A Circuit Sensor, SIEMENS Inhab Smart Home Energy Monitor, Meross Smart Home Energy Monitor with 18 Circuit Monitoring, Sungrass Home Energy Monitor Lite, Nestool WiFi Home Energy Monitor with 3 80A CT Clamps, Energy Monitor with 3 * 120A Clamp, Smart Home Energy Monitor with 3 200A Clamps EdgeAnt, Leviton LWHEM-2R Whole Home Energy Monitor, efergy Elite-Max Display Kit. Makers can change specifications; check the product page before you buy.